Skip to content

The democratization of the Press Office. Just kidding. I’M RUNNING THIS SHOW!

February 25, 2010

Hey, it’s mid-terms time! Gross, right? Time to take a study break.

So close those books, head over to the Madison Municipal Building, and tell your alders you want landlords to have to wait until half your lease is over before they start pressuring you to resign with them. Really, a city subcommittee will be discussing Ald. Maniaci’s proposal to make landlords wait an extra three months before they start annoying everyone.

A certain gentleman and scholar wrote about it in Wednesday’s Badger Herald. Get over there! Or get in touch with Leg Affairs Chair Adam Johnson and join the great mass of student humanity that will sweep through the Municipal Building like a tsunami. Epic.

I think it’s not unfair to give students three more months to realize they hate their current landlord because he never fixes anything before they are forced to sign a lease. The catch is that all landlords kinda suck.

The meeting’s at 4:30 p.m. if you’re interested.

Also, don’t forget to submit your ideas for the new union name. Send your submissions to namethatunion@gmail.com. Don’t even think about them, just send in everything that comes to mind. I just love thinking about the selection committee having to spend 4 hours reading through ideas like, “Peewee’s Playhouse,” “The Landing Strip,” and “George Bush Doesn’t Care About Black People Kanye West Memorial Union.” Oooh, was that a dated reference? Moving on!

Now, I’m planning the ASM newsletter with my uber-cool new press office minions and I’ve decided that while we already have some good ideas, I’m curious what you all would like to see in this newsletter. This thing is for your reading pleasure and I want to know what it is that you want to know about ASM.

Is there a specific interview you’d like me to conduct?  Is there some specific issue or internal process you’d like explained? Would you like a photo spread of me shirtless and staring off into the distance? Send any ideas or requests to asmpressoffice@gmail.com. Is this really just because I’m too lazy and/or lacking in genuinely good ideas? Don’t be ludicrous. I’m brilliant. And look for that newsletter soon. Maybe I’ll try to leak some of the more hilarious new union name submissions or something.

And one last thing. I see that the time one of my new minions, Marie, writes the Student Council Liveblog, there is a record number of page hits. In response, I consider you all a bunch of ungrateful little traitors. I GIVE AND I GIVE AND WHAT DO I GET!!!????

I can feel that punk eyeing my position as we speak. She’s shifty.

One Comment leave one →
  1. asmadame1 permalink*
    February 25, 2010 4:36 pm

    Shifty!?!?! Really?
    Its the peanut butter M&Ms…I told you! Works every time…delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

