Skip to content

Junger takes on journalistic ethics and I make a crappy slideshow.

March 4, 2010

So the Union naming has gotten off to a good start. I just hope everyone else has been having as much fun with it as the people in the ASM office have. I can spoil it and tell you someone has submitted the name, “Why is Ken Harris Here? Union.”

Really, I’m honored.

Tyler Junger just reported back from the panel “Journalism, Ethics, and Sensitivity” where he was a member of the panel along with some UW professors, the editors of the campus newspapers, and Dean of Students Lori Berquam, I believe.  It was a good discussion to have in light of the holocaust denier advertisement on the Badger Herald’s website. I will refrain from sharing my opinion on the subject, but if you’re a half-glass-full kind of person, you can at least say the issue has sparked some great discussion all over campus (along with some probably not-so-great discussion, I’m sure).

Junger said the panel was lively and heated, but what good debate isn’t, right?

Anyway, I just updated the slideshow from the kick-off. It still looks pretty bushleague, but it’s miles better than the previous one. I intend to start the ASM webcast interview series tomorrow. Look for that. Steven Olikara, ASM Diversity Committee Chair, is my first guest and we talk about the obstacles to promoting true diversity on campus and what he hopes to accomplish before he moves on. It’s a good time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 9:03 pm

    I like the slide show. Great captions!

Trackbacks

  1. Brunch Links « The Sconz

Leave a Reply

