Skip to content

SC Live Blog: Diversity and Valentines

February 9, 2011

Welcome to the Student Council Live Blog. For easy-to-understand explanations of new and old legislation on the agenda tonight, download the ASM Press Office’s weekly Student Council Agenda Explainer. Download the full agenda here.

6:41 PM Meeting called to order. Roll Call.

Announcements

Williams: Thank you to everyone here to run for diversity chair. After Open Forum, we will have a twenty minute recess when you can ask candidates questions. If you are here to run, please stand up.

Six people are here to run.

Open Forum

Steve Olikara, former ASM Diversity Chair: When I started with diversity committee, I wanted to figure out how diversity committee could work with other groups on campus like MCSC. What I found that diversity committee can do uniquely is act like a conduit and forum for diversity discussion and action. I’m happy to see a big group of people running to be chair, and I have not met them or read their proposals, so that should be considered in my remarks. I have been able to speak with Dan Posca, and I like what I’ve seen from him.

  • Smathers: What is unique about Dan Posca?
  • Olikara: He’s willing to work with different people, people with different ideas. Sometimes people preach that they believe in diversity, but then they believe they have all the answers and don’t want to work with other people. I think Dan is a great listener and will be willing to work with other students.
  • Smathers: I know people who had the concern with Dan of, “Why is diversity committee headed by a white guy?” Can you speak to that?
  • Olikara: I don’t really have anything to say about that. I based my recommendation based on his qualifications.
  • Niebart: How can a diversity chair create a “safe space” where people are comfortable to talk?
  • Olikara: It’s important to bring people together in regular conversation, and having continued dialogue– not just getting together when there is a controversy.
  • Hanley: What is an important quality in a candidate?
  • Olikara: The ability to listen.
  • Huang: What work did you leave unfinished when you were chair, and what work do you want the diversity chair to get to?
  • Olikara: I don’t think it’s about what I want the committee to do. Those are things that are really for the chair and committee members to decide.
  • Beemsterboer: I’ve heard that your opinion is diversity comes from diversity of opinion verses physical characteristics. Is that true?
  • Olikara: I think all of those areas are equally important, and yes.
  • Beemsterboer: Do you think being a republican on this campus makes you have a diverse opinion?
  • Olikara: It makes you have an opinion.
  • VandenLangenberg: Can you think of any anecdotes about Dan that make you think he will do a good job?
  • Olikara: At first I didn’t want to say anything on this issue, but I felt really strongly about the way he approaches the issue, and I think he would do a really good job.
  • VandenLangenberg: So your indirect endorsement is based off of just talking to Dan yesterday?
  • Olikara: I should be clear– it’s not really an endorsement. I’m just saying that I like what I heard from him.
  • VandenLangenberg: Can you think of anything Dan said about having respect of everyone on campus and being inclusive?
  • Olikara: The fact that he reached out to me and wanted to hear what I had to say. He’s asking good questions. A lot of people on campus aren’t asking those questions.
  • VandenLangenberg: Can you give an example of proposals you’ve heard that are not inclusive?
  • Olikara: I’m not going to comment on that.

7 PM

Mariela (running for diversity chair): I’m a graduate student from Costa Rica. I think people don’t often realize how deep and profound the meaning of diversity is. As an international student I’ve encountered a lot of problems dealing with the system. I’ve managed to plow through with the support, but I think students without that support would have much more trouble. One of my biggest goals is to open the minds of people. I don’t have a speech or proposal ready, but I would really like this position. I would be growing as a human being, and I think I can help people from different backgrounds and the same backgrounds. It doesn’t matter where you are from or what you believe in. We all have the same emotions and fears. I think I have the empathy to understand what others are going through, and I can be there mentally and emotionally. I believe in social justice, and as students we can change many things together.

  • Junger: ASM is a big time commitment, so whenever we get graduate students I’m always a little wary. Do you have time for the job?
  • Maria: I think so. I should say I’m pregnant, due in July. But when I commit to something, I want to finish it.
  • Williams: To clarify, the position starts immediately and ends in April.
  • Niebart: Have you seen anything specifically you want to address as diversity chair?
  • Maria: It’s really hard to find financial help and support. Also, I think it’s important to understand all the similarities we have. There are many differences, but we share so many things. And food will always bring people together.
  • Hanley: Since you would be starting right away, do you have an idea of where you would begin?
  • Maria: When you are project planning, you always need a needs assessment. So I would start by talking to the people who know more than I do.

Roberts (running for diversity chair): I’m studying psychology and I facilitate community diversity dialogues. I’m a mentor at the LGBT Campus Center. I think it’s really important to do social justice work– programming, inviting speakers, facilitating dialogues. We want students who feel like a minority to feel like they are accepted on this campus.

  • Junger: As a graduate student do you feel like you have enough time for this?
  • Maria: Yes, that’s where time management comes in.
  • Fergus: You mentioned working with students who are diverse. Can you define what diverse means to you?
  • Roberts: I in no way think that diversity is limited to what you can see. It’s ethnicity, it’s sexuality, it’s religion, it’s politics– it’s anything that defines you.
  • Huang: How will you take past experience with diversity and use it as chair?
  • Roberts: I’ve learned how to facilitate discussion so that it is productive and not just arguing.
  • Niebart: How do you get people who differ in ideologies to that table to have the dialogue?
  • Roberts: You can’t force people. If they’re interested they’ll express that.
  • Niebart: Are there any methods that can be used to reach out to people who might not want to be involved?
  • Roberts: Allowing those people to understand that it’s an open place, nobody will be judged and learning is going to happen.

Jordan White: I’m from Chicago, in the city. I moved to Wisconsin when I was fifteen, to a little farm town. My background has put me in touch with people from all walks of life. I’m heavily invested in social justice on campus. I studied under someone who helped plan Plan 2008. I’ve studied under the Grassroots Leadership College in Madison, I work with WISPIRG and Jump Start. I have facilitated a course of about 20 students about diversity. It’s about teaching and learning through our peers and applying it in everyday life. We perceive diversity to be a lot about skin color. Speaking as a white individual, this campus is about 90% white, and a lot of what I’ve found is that people are afraid to break the ice and bridge gaps between people who look different than you. We need to make sure that people become more familiar and aware of groups they don’t know about. My focus is to bring groups and organizations together to have a good community and commitment to each other to work things out on campus. A lot of complaints from my friends of color on campus have said that they don’t feel accepted on campus sometimes. One such event was an email sent out to organizations with minorities on campus for a photo shoot with donuts. Actions like that don’t do anything to break down the barriers on campus. What I would like to do as a member of the board is restructure the ethnic studies requirement on campus so there’s a requirement to specifically include dialogue-based multicultural learning. Instead of calling each other “others” we can be one strong community and work together.

7:30 PM

  • Smathers: What do you think went wrong with Plan 2008?
  • White: I don’t think it focused its intentions on what sustains discrimination and ways to break that sustained discrimination. I don’t think it deconstructed the university and the way that the whole system is set up. We have the perception that the power that is here will stay here. By including people who aren’t holding power on campus, a lot of minorities on campus, in the discussion about what has to be done, is something that I think Plan 2008 missed the boat on.
  • Hanley: Do you have any goals for when you start, anything concrete?
  • White: I want to expand the options for dialogue-centered ethnic studies courses, and give more students the opportunity to take these classes.
  • Hanley: Do you have enough time for this?
  • White: Yeah, and through being involved with quite a bit of organizations, I think I can through this position bring all of these organizations together.

Dan Posca (running for diversity chair): I’ve been working with the diversity chair for this year, and I approached him with a plan for getting the committee up and running. The three goals I came up with are 1. to create a purpose for the organization, 2. reach out to students, and 3. better advocacy. I bet if you asked everyone in this room for their definition of diversity, you’d get a different definition from everyone. And that’s exactly what diversity is. As chair, I would work with many organizations on campus that are usually not reached out to. There are so many groups that emphasize different types of diversity and heritage and background on campus, and I want to start dialogues with all of them. I want to get their ideas, and see what we can do for them. Another key thing is we want to give the diversity committee things to do, such as bringing back shadow day. Real Talk needs to be continued. It’s an amazing event hosted on campus. Another idea is to create a week where we can bring all the different religious and cultural groups on campus together to talk about faith-based identity. Basically, I really want to bring access and affordability to all students on campus.

  • Huang: How do you define diversity?
  • Posca: There isn’t any one definition. But we need to really talk about this and engage people on that debate.
  • Diaz: Before the diversity committee, have you worked with any other committee that considers itself diverse?
  • Posca: I have at the University of Waukesha. (I didn’t catch the names.)
  • Hilliard: Have you done any outreach to organizations on campus?
  • Posca: I attended the forum for diversity affairs and started talking to people. And immediately I want to start working more on that.

Nneka: There is a white male society that has dominated this campus. Historically in America, you have one type of person who only represent themselves. Our system of government is designed to benefit the founders of the country. Anyone who doesn’t understand that basic concept is not qualified to chair this committee. From reading Dan’s blog posts, I think he’s very idealistic. What he’s talking about should be the end goal, but it’s not the reality. I don’t think Dan understands the reality we are dealing with so he could not do a good job as diversity chair. If Dan is elected, I think there will be a massive backlash of students of color and diverse backgrounds. I don’t know Dan at all, and I want to point that out. Placing someone like Dan in diversity chair will further elevate his power and take away from marginalized students who it is supposed to empower. My point is he is white, and he is privileged. Putting someone with privilege in power furthers that power, and doesn’t give it to the people who are without power that this committee is supposed to support. If we can put someone who is traditionally silenced into a position of power, that is utilizing that position of power.

  • Fergus: Do you know anything about Dan beyond that he is white?
  • Nneka: All I know is he looks like he has privilege. I wanted to make this about the institution, not Dan personally.

8 PM

Baldeh (running for diversity chair): I’m an extrovert with a youthful, fun, thoughtful leadership background. I know a lot of different people from a multitude of backgrounds and belief systems, so I know I would be a good diversity chair.

  • Palmann: What would your plan of action be?
  • Baldeh: I would talk to a lot of people and find out the concrete diversity problems on campus.
  • Hanley: Why did you decide to run for this position?
  • Baldeh: It was just complete chance that I found out about it. I saw it in my email and decided to give it a shot.
  • Hanley: What makes you stand out from the other candidates?
  • Baldeh: I’m mixed, so I guess it’s best of both worlds. I lived in Africa as a young child, I’ve lived in farm areas, and I have lots of experience with different people.
  • Nichols: What would you do first?
  • Baldeh: I would talk to people about diversity initiatives that have failed in the past.

Travis (running for diversity committee): I’m an active member of the Multicultural Learning Community on campus and other organizations. Since I first came onto campus, there’s a lot that I’ve seen that I want to change. A lot of campus groups label themselves as multicultural and that’s great but I find that it’s segregating. I don’t see any reason why all of our student organizations can’t come together. I think it would help to maybe extend SOAR a couple days to have these inter-cultural dialogues. I think we need more of an emphasis on ethnic studies on campus. Biology is great for teaching us why we’re human, but it doesn’t teach us how to be human. I just want us all to be real with each other. That’s what it comes down to. Earlier Olikara was saying that the ability to listen is most mportant. I agree that that is important, but I think even more important is that I have the ability to empower, and I hope I can show you guys that this semester.

  • Smathers: What happens at SOAR regarding diversity?
  • Travis: There really wasn’t any talk about diversity.
  • Smathers: Diversity Committee has tried to change SOAR in the past, but the committee failed. Some of the concern was that it’s only two days long.
  • Travis: I think spending 4-5 years as a student here, that adding a couple days over the summer isn’t a big deal.
  • Niebart: When have you empowered people?
  • Travis: I worked with Best Buddies this summer, and tried to show them that they can be part of this campus because they are part of this campus. I also worked with Growing Power and we helped people build hoop houses. We didn’t just show them how to build it, we told them what it meant.

Lena: I’m really not so happy about the overall tone that’s being brought to what diversity committee is. It’s being portrayed as a failure. As to what happened with SOAR, I would say that diversity committee failed. It was the university that failed on that. I’ve been involved with diversity committee for a long time, and there has been many successes. I want people here who haven’t cared about the committee to not so much have an opinion about who’s heading it and where they’re going.

Jessi, from UW Oshkosh: I’ve been working on diversity on our campus. I have worked with Dan Posca on different statewide issues and I know that Dan has the experience with different diversity issues. I’m not endorsing, but I know that Dan has the experience.

  • Niebart: Did you work on diversity issues with him?
  • Jessi: No we worked on legislative affairs, but I know he has worked on diversity.

Max Love: I have valentines for Governor Walker that we are sending to ask him not to cut funding to the university. On the topic of diversity, I hope that even the candidates that aren’t elected stay involved with ASM. I didn’t see all the candidates present, so I can’t say who would be the best, but I can testify that there are specific candidates that have more merit than others. I hope you consider who can slide into this position and get it done, and who is lying to you about what they’ve done and consider diversity to be just about ideas and not fighting for structural change. I would like you all to think very hard about the person you are selecting to represent ASM. Remember diversity chair should be making changes at this university and not lying about what diversity is.

Reports

SJ Cheif Justice Fifield: Student Council election dates are now March 28-30. We moved the dates back so that they would not interfere with City elections.

  • VandenLangenberg: Will this change the candidate declaration dates?
  • Fifield: I would advise examining the bylaws to figure that out. I can do that and email that out.
  • Kelly (staff): The Election Commission decided not to change the candidate declaration dates: February 21 at 7PM – March 7 at 12PM.
  • Find election info here.

Recess for 20 minutes for informal candidate discussions.

9:05 PM

Motion to table remaining reports to move on. Motion passes.

Balmeh, Jasmine Savoy, Angela, Travis, Dan Posca, Maria, and Jordan White were all nominated by Council Representatives.

Williams: We will likely do two or three secret ballot elections to do a runoff vote. Now each candidate can give a short speech:

  • Balmeh: I gladly accept my nomination, and if elected I promise to bring a positive fresh look at diversity on this campus, work hard and hit the ground running.
  • White: Being a Chair member, I have a huge network that I can bring to the table. Keep it real, and think about what this position entitles.
  • Savoy: I would really like this position because I have a lot of ideas of things to do with this position. I would like to revamp the mission statement because right now it’s just a super long paragraph that doesn’t say anything.Please pick the candidate based on their qualifications and not on who your friend is because y’all did that last time and that didn’t work out.
  • Tangela: I would like to actually accomplish social justice instead of just talking about it.
  • Travis: I’m ready to listen, connect, and empower. I would like to see more multicultural communities on campus.
  • Posca: I’ve had four plus years of leadership experience, I already have a plan in place and back-up plans.
  • Mariela: I want to work hard, listen to people, empower people, and push people to see the best in themselves.

Williams: Now we will vote to cut the candidate pool down to 4 so that we can have a more focused discussion.

Council votes by secret ballot. Nyada Balmeh, Tangela, Jasmine Savoy and Dan Posca remain. Now council will ask the candidates questions. Nyada Balmeh had to go so he is not here to answer questions.

Junger: If elected tomorrow, what would you start with?

  • Dan: I want to get a lot more people on the committee from different organizations, and think about fundraising and dialogues.
  • Tangela: I want to contact everyone on the committee and people who are interested and talk about what we want to see done. A month from now I want to have headway on some type of programming.
  • Jasmine: Email blasts. I want to let everyone know what we’re doing and get people involved. I want to lay the groundwork for the diversity campaign.

Hanley: How will you build membership on the committee?

  • Tangela: Emails, word-of-mouth, the media.
  • Jasmine: I want to get a little army together to do class raps. Also just talking to people. I’m involved in many organizations, so I want to go to their meetings– and not just to the multicultural organizations.
  • Dan: I want to immediately contact leaders of organizations, and get a plan moving right away for people to get involved in.

9:40 PM

Niebart: Are you interested in putting on any events, like celebrating special months?

  • Jasmine: I would not, because a lot of organizations are already doing that, and the calendar is already booked with stuff to do. I would go out and support those efforts, but I wouldn’t feel the need for diversity to put on programming like that.
  • Dan: I would want to help other organizations put on those campaigns and get more student organizations involved, helping out, attending.
  • Tangela: If it’s already being accomplished by other organizations, I think we should support them. But if there are events that aren’t happening we should be the ones to put ourselves out there and do something about it.

Jasmine: To my fellow candidates, why do you want this position?

  • Dan: I got really invested when I started helping Martin out, and I want to see the committee doing tangible important things beyond what it’s doing now.
  • Tangela: I’m already very committed to these issues, and I want a chance to be more active.

Huang: How do you plan on empowering students?

  • Tangela: For students who identify as any type of diversity, it’s letting them know that their voices are heard.
  • Jasmine: I think the best way is to engage them and find different ways to get them involved so they stay on.
  • Dan: It’s to make sure students have a voice so their concerns are heard and to create opportunities for them to pursue their ideas.

Ivins: What is the best quality that you’ll bring to the committee, and what’s an area you think you could work on?

  • Jasmine: I’m very idea-oriented, but I’m also very goal-oriented. If I can’t do it, I’ll pass it on to someone who can. One of my weaknesses is that sometimes I can be overly aggressive, especially toward council members, because I’m really strong-headed in the way I think about things.
  • Dan: My leadership style– I’ve had many years to cultivate it, and it’s really about sitting down with people, getting them involved, and coming up with ways to get them more involved. I could improve on taking help from other people instead of just doing everything myself.
  • Tangela: The best is quality facilitating collaboration and using many people’s ideas. I like to see things through fully. Sometimes I can focus too much on the details– I’m kind of detail-oriented.

SC representative: This is to Dan–what do you think about the concern that you are “the norm” on campus?

  • Dan: Diversity is much deeper. There’s no right amount of diverse qualities you can have as chair. The important thing is that you are able to be a good leader.
  • Rep: Do you think the perception could affect your ability to involve people as chair?
  • Dan: I think talking people and being open minded is the best way to start including people.

VandenLangenberg: When have you made a project a success and what was the process?

  • Dan: Currently I’m working on a project of financial aid passports with United Council. Not all campuses have some kind of day care center on campus. We are researching current and past day care programs on campuses.
  • Tangela: I do some work with the Rape Crisis Center of Dane County, so I put on events at middle schools and high schools.
  • Jasmine: In high school I was president of my county’s student government. We had to put together a meeting without any help, and we called everyone we had to to make it happen.

10 PM

Williams: Now we will vote. You each have two votes. The top two candidates will move on, and we will go into debate.

Jasmine and Tangela move on. Into debate.

Smathers: This is a vote that matters to the future of ASM. In this vote I think I have to vote for Tangela, and I think the reason is simple. People who aren’t members of ASM is a different kind of diversity. I think this body is prone to to being insular. While I think that Jasmine would do a great job, she is still part of ASM. I don’t want someone from ASM to be doing this job. I want someone who is not going to be prone to the same kind of political in-fighting. Tangela seems to have a very good head on her shoulders and she knows a lot about social justice. One of the things she wants to do in her career is counseling, “and frankly, this whole body needs counseling.” I really hope that you vote her in because of the fact that she is an outsider.

Fergus: Something said in open forum offended my quite greatly. Nneka spoke to a certain candidate’s background without knowing that background. That is a major problem on this campus. I was in the Shared Gov meeting where the LGBT Campus Center spoke. I was perceived by them how many of you are seeing me now: white male, probably straight. I want to say right now that only two of those things are true. When they tried to teach me a lesson about my identity without knowing me, that was very offensive. And when someone came forward and tried to say something about a person in open forum without knowing that person’s background, that offends me deeply.

Junger: I think it’s wonderful that five people who are not involved with ASM came here tonight to say they want to get involved. That’s great. I hope they all stay involved, no matter who gets elected. “If there is one area that ASM has been bad at, diversity is it.” I want that to change because I think the only way that we have a healthy campus is if that does change.

VandenLangenberg: It’s been really tough for me to make a decision. That being said, I echo some of the things that Smathers said because I’m a grad student myself and I have a tendency to side with people who have had a longer professional resume. I would also like to echo what Smathers said that I don’t think we should be looking at this with a colorblind eye, and I think we need to take those things into consideration. I hope that all the candidates meet tomorrow and decide how to move diversity committee forward.

Time to vote again.

New Diversity Chair is Tangela Roberts.

Five minute recess.

10:30 PM

New Legislation

Removal of 2 Year Student Council Term Limit

From the Explainer: Currently, Student Council Representatives are limited to a two-year term limit. However, this is frustrating to committed students who have been involved in Student Council since freshman or sophomore year but are no longer allowed to serve on Council as upperclassmen. By abolishing the term limit rule, truly dedicated students as well as interested graduate students, are allowed to serve as long as they are committed.

Ziebell: Right now people have to strategically plan when they will serve on council if they want to stay with council many years and work on long-term projects.

Q & A:

  • VandenLangenberg: If this mostly affects freshmen, is there another way to address this?
  • Ziebell: No, because it also affects graduate students.
  • VandenLangenberg: So why not just amend it to deal specifically with freshmen and graduate students. I guess that’s “debate”…
  • Savoy: I don’t think we should just make it totally open, because people could be on student council for years.
  • Fergus: I see the main issue is freshman who get involved, and people who get on as grad students. I’m more amenable to saying that freshman terms don’t count, and graduate students get a fresh slate.
  • Niebart: Do you think the limit in place now allow people to take more opportunities on campus and not just be involved in one thing?
  • Fergus: I think students on this campus have the opportunity to get involved as they choose. I don’t think this organization precludes other involvement.
  • VandenLangenberg: Would you be amenable to putting into this the language of a sort of sunrise clause where it does not apply to members of the 16th session?
  • Fergus: No, because the first time I’ve seen this problem is on this council in particular.
  • VandenLangenberg: Can you give us some anecdotal evidence before next week’s meeting of how many people would actually be taking advantage of this change?
  • Fergus: Sure.
  • VandenLangenberg: Do you know at how many sessions in the past this legislation has come up and how many times council has voted no?
  • Fergus: I’m not sure, but as a graduating senior who has no stake in it, this is a problem I’ve seen, and I think it’s important to allow students to vote on who they want, and not stop people from upward mobility in their sophomore year.
  • Junger: I know this idea has been floated around but never really acted on.
  • VandenLangenberg: How will you let students know both sides of this issue when they vote on it? How will you inform everyone of both the pros and the cons in the effort of transparency going into the vote?
  • Junger: We’ve never had a campaign about constitution changes. If you so choose to have an information presenting session about this, I’m all for it.

End of Q & A. It will be back for vote next week.

10:45 PM

Student Judiciary Budget Approval

Chair Matt Manes is presenting the Student Judiciary Internal budget. Budget is attached in Student Council agenda.

Council will vote on this next week.

Student Services Finance Committee Budget Approval

Chair Manes is presenting the SSFC Internal budget. Budget information is attached in Council agenda.

Council will vote on this next week.

GSSF Budget Approval

SSFC has approved budgets for all GSSF groups for the 2011-12 school year. GSSF groups are Registered Student Organizations who receive funding from segregated fees, allocated by SSFC. The budget information is attached in the agenda.

If WISPIRG is granted eligibility at their hearing tomorrow, these numbers will change.

This will be voted on next week.

Yet Another Bylaw Change

Bringing up a minor discrepancy in the bylaws, Tyler Junger noted in the Accountability requirements it states that student groups can not violate ASM financial policies or UW System financial policies. This does not cover UW-Madison specific financial policies. No groups have been in violation pertaining to this loophole, but Junger wanted to make sure it would not come up in future financial cases.

Approved.

11 PM

Chief Justice Attendance

Essentially in the bylaws, all ex-officio members must attend Student Council meetings. Ex- officio members are mainly chairs of committees who have speaking, but not voting rights during Council. The Chief Justice position is an ex-officio member of Student Council. Chief Justice Kate Fifield argues her presence is not necessary or prudent. The Chief Justice’s job is to preside over cases generally concerning student organizations and ASM. Since the justices must remain neutral in all hearings and cases, Fifield says her attendance could be deemed controversial since she can participate in and comment on any debate or discussion. She has asked Council to negate her mandatory attendance at Student Council meetings unless she needs to present on Judiciary legislation.

Debate:

  • Smathers: I agree that she doesn’t need to be present at these meetings. People do treat SJ as something like the supreme court. It’s not. It’s a body of appeals that’s not above everybody else. But I don’t think she should be at these meetings, and I don’t think it serves any purpose. If you want to debate this late into the night, I think that’s a waste of everyone’s time. And I that will be the last thing I ever say in Student Council.
  • Junger: I think there has to be a way for SJ to hear the concerns of Student council. I think if we don’t require them to come, nobody will ever come. If the chair doesn’t feel like enforcing it, then they won’t.
  • Nichols: I agree, I think it’s beneficial for having the Chief Justice here and knowing what’s going on.
  • Manes: I think it’s important that the Chief Justice be here as the final link between Council and SJ. Otherwise it has no knowledge of the goings on of this body.

Council votes. Bylaw change does NOT pass.

Resolution to Protect Student Voting Rights

There has been discussion for possible state legislation that would make it harder for students to vote in two big ways. One initiative would end same day voter registration. This means students who go to vote at the polls on voting day would need to have been registered days before. Additionally, Senate Bill 6, currently under consideration, would require eligible electors to present valid Wisconsin identification at the polls that includes an address that matches their polling location. This can be problematic for students who have an old address on their ID (such as their hometown), but wish to vote near their current address. These students would have to get a new ID in order to vote in their district.

Johnson: I motion to include in the resolution that if Senate Bill 6 passes, student identification cards should be included as acceptable identification at the polls.

This motion passes.

Resolution passes.

By unanimous consent, I ❤ UW and Shared Gov PA Reappointment are approved.

Meeting adjourned.

11:30 PM

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

